Day 20: I Think I’m Calling It.

I came home from work after about 3 hours this morning. My stomach was cramped with shooting pains. Is it because of something I ate yesterday? The oatmeal I had this morning? My coffee? The fact that I slept maybe a total of an hour, not consecutively, last night? All or none of the above? I don’t know. But it’s not the first time I’ve felt sick this month. Honestly, it’s not the first time I’ve felt sick outside of this month, but I’ve noticed it more recently.

I’ve spent the last 20 days feeling weirdly off-kilter. I’ve had episodes of nausea and waves of sweatiness that don’t have anything to do with physical activity. There are days when I feel kind of dizzy. My body has changed a bit in ways that are a little TMI. I smell different. Things that leave my body look different… Maybe that’s from not eating enough calories. Maybe it’s from eating the wrong calories. Maybe my body doesn’t do well with the whole Stevia thing. Or my weird reaction to quinoa. Or something else I’m eating or not eating. I don’t know. But I think I need to detox myself from my detox now.

I had already planned on calling it a little early because my birthday is the 27th. I’m not spending my birthday not being able to eat anything. Not that I want to go all out, but I’d like to enjoy a nice meal and maybe a piece of cake and not have to feel like I’m cheating on all my hard work. But I think I’m calling it now. I made it 20 out of the 28 days without cheating. Without too many cravings. I’m not sure that I can say I made it without starving myself, but I ate. I ate until I was full. I just wasn’t eating very calorie laden things.

I’ve learned a bit about eating clean in these 20 days. I’ve learned how to substitute things in my meals that are healthier. I’ve learned that I don’t need all the things I had been eating before. And I lost almost 8 lbs. So I’m going to take what I learned and apply them to eating healthy with dairy and gluten and sugar in my diet.

I still have a long way to go in my weight loss journey, so I’ll still be here. Probably not daily updates like I have been, but maybe do a once a week check-in to keep up with my progress. Maybe some recipes and some tips that I’ve learned along the way. And I’ll keep checking in with the others like me I’ve found within these 20 days. We’ll cheer each other on.


 

Weight Lost: A total of 7.5 lbs as of yesterday
Belt Notch: Started at #3, have successfully made it to #4, although there are days when its still a little snug.

Leave a Reply

