Recipe: Overnight Oats

I’ll be the first to admit I’m lazy. I barely have time to get myself up, showered, and dressed with a cup of coffee in my hand before work. There’s no way I have time to make a whole breakfast. But within an hour or so of being at work my stomach is growling. So I have to eat something.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Many, many times I resort to buying food from our cafe. A scone. A croissant. A muffin. A rice krispy bar. None of which are very good for you. And definitely adds up not only in calories and sugar, but also in the budget department. Then I realized overnight oats were a thing. Prepping them is super simple. And it can be done waaaay ahead of time and left in the pantry until I want to eat it. Just pour some milk in the dry ingredients the night before, let it soak, and you’ve got yourself a grab and go breakfast in the morning with minimal effort!

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset


Overnight Oats
Makes one 8 ounce jar

*This is for ONE 8 ounce jar. Repeat as many times as necessary for as many jars as you want to make. I usually do 4-6 at a time so I have breakfast for the week. They will keep for awhile in the pantry or cupboard, so don’t be afraid to make a bunch.

1/4 cup old-fashioned oats
1/2 tsp brown sugar (or 1 packet of Stevia to make it sugar-free)
1/8 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp vanilla extract
Pinch of salt
1/4 oz chopped nuts (almonds, pecans, walnuts– whatever you like)
1/4 c chopped freeze dried fruit (berries, apples, mango– again, whatever you like)
1 tsp ground flaxseed or chia seeds (optional)

  1. Add all ingredients to an 8 ounce jar. Leave layered or shake it up to mix. Put prepared jar in the pantry or cupboard until needed.
  2. To prepare, add about 1/4 to a 1/3 cup* of the milk of your choice (dairy, nut, soy) to the jar, put the lid on and shake to combine. Put in the fridge and allow milk to absorb overnight. (I have made this in the morning and ate it after about an hour, but the oats were still a little crunchy, so I suggest allowing it to soak for longer.)

*Use more milk if you like your oatmeal to be wet like cereal, or less if you want drier oats.

Recipe Hack: I weighed my nuts and fruit at first, but now I just pile them into the lid of my jar to measure. The nuts should nearly cover the bottom in a single layer and fruit should fit into the lid without heaping over the ring. I don’t measure the milk either anymore. I just fill it until the milk barely covers the oats. But if you want more fruit, nuts, or milk, add more. This is a “you do you” kind of recipe.

If you like fresh fruit, that’s cool too. Omit the dried fruit when preparing the jars, and simply add it in before eating!

Other add-ins to try:

  • Raisins
  • Mini chocolate chips (if you’re not on the Reset)
  • Dried coconut
  • Drizzle of honey or maple syrup (add before eating)
  • Nutmeg or other spices in place of or in addition to cinnamon

Processed with VSCO with hb1 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Leave a Reply

